Long term goals

Going from an apartment in the city to running a mini farm is not what I’d call a quick process. It’ll probably be three years before I have all the livestock I’m hoping to, and even longer before all the fruit and nut trees I plan on putting in this winter are providing a surplus. But there’s something else I’m hoping to have going on around the same time. 

I want to quit my job. Don’t worry, I’m not delusional. I don’t expect small scale farming to replace the steady income I’m used to. But it doesn’t have to. It just needs to reduce my monthly living expenses so that a smaller amount of income can pick up the slack. 

That income will hopefully be ornamental trees. I’m currently growing about a dozen Japanese maples and two Mexican fan palms. This is the result of planting about 75 maple seeds and a half dozen palm seeds. First year was really about learning to care for them. This fall is when I get serious. 

My plan is to put no fewer than 300 maple and 50 palm seeds in the ground, and at least double that every year until I have sufficient inventory. It may take 3-5 years before anything is worth selling, but figure it costs nearly nothing to get them there. A little water, pots I already have, and soil. With hugelmounds, eventually I won’t need to buy soil. With rain barrels, water will be cheaper. And I’ve got a source for free pots as well. 

Three years sounds like a really long time when all you want to do is farm and work at home, but slow and steady wins the race. 

Leave a Reply

