Yeah, but it’s a dry heat!

The girlfriend really wanted a dehydrator. So I got her one. And not one of those little round plastic doohickeys, this is all steel commercial grade. Of course, we had nothing needing to be dehydrated so it sat there for a few weeks. 

Through work I have twice weekly dealings with the delivery fleet for a produce company in Seattle. I’ve gotten to know a couple of the dock workers there. Pretty nice guys. A few times they’ve just given me food. Apparently they give away to homeless on a regular basis, too. So this time I asked how much they’d charge for a box of tomatoes. I figured cheaper than retail. 

STX INTERNATIONAL Dehydra STX-DEH-1200W-XLS 10-Tray Stainless Steel Digital Food Dehydrator, 1200-watt(The exact model I purchased was discontinued but this is nearly identical)
What I did not expect was to get a free box because a few of the tomatoes were damaged so the box wasn’t sellable. So we removed like four bad tomatoes and had a whole box of free romas! Enter the dehydrator! 

But it gets better. With nearly every shipment they receive, there are “bad boxes” due to damage or overripeness. The dock worker cleared it with his supervisor to set some aside for me every week. So I am definitely going to get my money’s worth out of that machine!

This isn’t to brag. This is point out that opportunities exist all over. Even a grocery store might be willing to giveaway overripe or damaged produce. Even if it’s not good for eating, it could be good for preserving and eating later. And if not, compost it!

Just think, this would have gone to a landfill for just a few bruises and one squished one. Instead, well. A picture is worth a thousand words. 

Leave a Reply

